PPAC lists student ARTS scholarship winners

PPAC lists student ARTS scholarship winners

PROVIDENCE - The following local students are among the 31 Rhode Island students who have been selected to receive ARTS scholarships from the Providence Performing Arts Center.

Olivia Crehan of Hope Elementary School, Scituate; Gabriella DaLuz, Savannah Giragosian, Mya Ramirez, and Sereena Walker of Jenks Junior High School, Pawtucket; and Hannah Nichols of Cumberland High School, will be presented the awards at PPAC on April 29.

In addition, Ava Meena of The Lincoln School in Providence, was named recipient of the 2013 Keri Anne O'Donnell Memorial Scholarship.

Jo-Ann Ragosta, chairwoman of the ARTS Scholarships 2013 program, along with the members of the Community Outreach Committee of the Providence Performing Arts Center, announced the winners in a press release last week.

The scholarship program is sponsored by Textron Inc. with support from the Rhode Island State Council on the Arts, Ocean State Charities Trust, and the PPAC Annual Fund Donors. The 31 talented Rhode Island student artists, ages 11-14, will each receive a scholarship of up to $500 that will provide an opportunity to attend local summer arts education programs to expand their experiences in a chosen area of study.