Fire Committee race attracting newcomers

Fire Committee race attracting newcomers

MacBeth, McLaughlin get Democratic challengers

CUMBERLAND - The brand-new Fire Committee was attracting candidates early this week as the three-day filing period kicked off the campaign season Monday.

Signing up to run for this unaffiliated board by Wednesday morning were: Dana Jones, Thomas Schmitt and David Raymond, at-large; Christopher Parent, District 1; Brian Dixon and Cynthia Ouellette, District 3; Eugene Sartini, District 5.

One person from each of the five districts will be elected to this new board as well as two at-large. Like the School Committee, this committee is nonpartisan and there will be no primary runoff.

There were still six hours to go in the declaration period when The Breeze went to press Wednesday. See Thursday's Breeze website for a complete list.

Declaring for mayor, as expected, were Daniel Alves, Manny DaCosta and Bill Murray.

On the Town Council, Peter Bradley, who served a term on the Town Council before being defeated by Scott Schmitt in 2012, wants to return but this time will run for an at-large seat.

Also declaring for the at-large seats were President Jim Higgins and Art Lambi, both incumbents.

Newcomer Joshua Call-Fregeau filed to run in District 1, an open seat because the current councilor, Manny DaCosta, is running for mayor. Also going for District 1, as an independent, is James Metivier.

Robert Shaw Jr. says he's seeking the open District 5 seat vacated by Bill Murray, another candidate for mayor.

And District 3 incumbent Jeff Kearns and District 4 incumbent Scott Schmitt both filed for a second term.

Kearns, Schmitt and Lambi were the only Republicans to officially declare by Tuesday.

On the School Committee, Chairwoman Lisa Beaulieu wants to retain her at-large seat and Craig Duffy, currently in District 2, is asking for the at-large seat that Jeff Mutter is giving up. Duffy just moved from District 2 to District 4.

Incumbents Mark Fiorillo, District 1, Paul DiModica, District 3, Linda Teel, District 4, and Ray Salvatore, District 5, all are filing for a return to the board.

The only newcomer so far was Bill Dennen, District 2, the district that Duffy moved from.

Incumbents in the General Assembly who had filed were Reps. Jim McLaughlin, District 57, Karen MacBeth, District 52, Mia Ackerman, District 45 and Robert Phillips, District 50; Sens. Ryan Pearson, District 19 and Roger Picard, District. 20.

Challenging MacBeth is newcomer Tom Kane and challenging McLaughlin is Ruth Ricciarelli.

About the mayoral candidates, Alves is kicking off his mayoral run with a fundraiser at St. Joseph Parish Hall on Tuesday, July 1, 6-8 p.m. There will be a food buffet and a cash bar. The donation is $25. For tickets call 401-726-1080.

Murray is holding a rally on Friday, June 27, from 5-8 p.m. at Our Lady of Fatima Hall. The evening will include music by Joe Silva, and food and beverages. The suggested donation is $25 and kids are free.