Shallcross Smith will head Northern R.I. Chamber this year

Shallcross Smith will head Northern R.I. Chamber this year

LINCOLN – The new chairwoman of the Northern Rhode Island Chamber of Commerce is Mary Ann Shallcross Smith of Dr. Daycare Family.

She and members of the Chamber’s 2016 board of directors, representing a wide variety of local businesses from across Rhode Island, were elected at the February annual meeting.

Shallcross Smith is the president/CEO of Dr. Day Care, Kids Klub and Therapeutic Child Care Services. She was previously a state representative, volunteered as a Court Appointed Special Advocate, was the Rhode Island Foster Parents Association president, and has been involved with many other organizations. She has her doctorate in youth studies and leadership and was recently awarded the Childcare Exchange 2015 Master Leader Award.

Additional members of the 2016 executive committee are: Chairman-elect Ernest Almonte, a certified public accountant; secretary, Susan Fabrizio, Flagship Staffing Services; treasurer, Craig Sculos, Twin River Casino; immediate past chairman, Ross Nelson, Cox Business; legal counsel, Michael A. Gamboli, Esq., Partridge Snow & Hahn; and John C. Gregory, president/CEO.

Executive committee at-large members are: Kevin Tracy, Bank of America, and Jennifer Parkhurst, Fidelity Investments.

The complete 2016 board listing is Anthony Botelho, Christopher J. Bouley, Anthony Capuano Jr., Frank Casale, Jeffery P. Cascione, Liz Catucci, George Charette, Michael A. DeCataldo, Nancy Dufresne, Timothy Flanagan, David Fontaine, Tim Forsberg, Diane Fregeau, John Houle, William Hunt, Junior Jabbie, An Le, Carl Lisa Sr.

Also, Robert Mancini, Peter Marino, Daniel P. Orovitz, Roger J. Peloquin Jr., Jeanne Budnick, Yahaira Placencia, Joseph K. Sabetta, Lori Spangler, Robert Stolzman, Robert Suglia, Thomas Ward, David Wegrzyn and Lawrence E. Wilson III.

The Northern Rhode Island Chamber of Commerce represents the interests of businesses in the communities of Burrillville, Central Falls, Cumberland, Foster, Glocester, Johnston, Lincoln, North Providence, North Smithfield, Pawtucket, Scituate, Smithfield and Woonsocket.