Explore the past on Great Road Day in Lincoln

Explore the past on Great Road Day in Lincoln

Saylesville Friends Meetinghouse is one of several historic sites along Lincoln’s Great Road that will host a free tour on Saturday, Sept. 23, as part of the annual Great Road Day.

LINCOLN – Several historic sites along Lincoln’s Great Road will host free tours on Saturday, Sept. 23, as part of the annual Great Road Day, a collaboration of historic properties within the nationally designated Great Road Historic District.

The opening is part of Smithsonian’s Museum Day, which promotes free admission to participating museums around the country.

A new site on the tour is welcomed this year with the addition of the Pullen Corner School House, circa 1850, a one-room school that was relocated to Chase Farm Park from its original location on Angell Road. Although not totally completed, the historic building is in its final stages of restoration, giving visitors the opportunity to see the interior of the school, which closed in 1922.

Another opportunity being offered is the viewing of the Moffett Mill, circa 1812. As one of the state’s earliest wooden mills, it is only open on select occasions because of its inaccessibility along the busy curve of the roadway below Chase Farm. The only access will be by shuttle bus, which will transport visitors from Chase Farm Park to the mill throughout the day. The Mt. Moriah Lodge, circa 1804, is also open to the public only one day a year.

Other sites included in Great Road Day are: Hearthside House, circa 1810; Historic New England’s Arnold House, circa 1693; Hannaway Blacksmith Shop, 1870; Chase Farm Park, circa 1867; Saylesville Friends Meetinghouse, 1703; Valentine Whitman House, 1694; Mt. Moriah Masonic Lodge, 1804; Northgate, home of the Blackstone Valley Historical Society, circa1807; and the Arnold Bakery, 1874.

Visitors are invited to tour at their own pace and select sites they would like to see, or visit all of them. Signs will be posted at each site along the route. While most sites will be open between 11 a.m. and 4 p.m., the hours vary slightly, opening later and closing earlier at some.

Some features include a demonstration of Colonial cooking over the open fire at Hearthside, hand forging demonstrations at the Hannaway Blacksmith Shop, and a special exhibit at the Blackstone Valley Historical Society that resulted from the donation of a mysterious album about the roots of a famous local family: “An Elaborate History: The Cumberland Ballous.”

All sites are open with free admission. There is parking at each site with the exception of the Moffett Mill.

The goal of Great Road Day is to encourage visitors to discover “Three Centuries in Three Miles.” It is sponsored in part by the town of Lincoln, which owns Chase Farm Park and several of the sites.

For more information, contact Hearthside at 401-726-0597 or visit www.hearthsidehouse.org. The locations and addresses are as follows:

• Arnold House, 487 Great Road, open 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.

• Saylesville Friends Meetinghouse, 374 Great Road, open 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

• Hannaway Blacksmith Shop, Chase Farm Park, and the Pullen Corner Schoolhouse, 671 Great Road, open 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

• Hearthside, 677 Great Road, open 11 a.m to 5 p.m.

• Moffett Mill, accessible only by shuttle bus from Chase Farm Park, open 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

• Mount Moriah Lodge, 1093 Great Road, open 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

• Valentine Whitman House, 1147 Great Road, open noon to 4 p.m.

• Blackstone Valley Historical Society & Arnold Bakery, 1873 Old Louisquisset Pike, open 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.