Candidates declare for Pawtucket seats

Candidates declare for Pawtucket seats

PAWTUCKET – Frequent city candidate David Norton will challenge Democratic incumbent Don Grebien for mayor, running under the "Hospitals Before Stadiums" party.

Four City Council seats drew most of the interest from candidates declaring their intention to run for office by Wednesday's 4 p.m. deadline.

• For three available at-large seats on the council, seven Democrats pulled papers to run, including Michael Araujo, who is first running in a July 10 special election for a council seat, incumbent Albert Vitali Jr., School Committee member Elena Vasquez, former School Committee Chairman James Chellel, returning challenger Emmanuel Echevarria, and newcomers Dana Drowne, Janie Segui Rodriguez, Mark Theroux. Independents Rodney Barber (first challenging Araujo in the July 10 special election) and Melissa DaRosa will face the top three winners in the Democratic primary, with the top three vote-getters winning a seat.

• For the District 4 council seat held by incumbent Democrat John Barry III, fellow Democrats Joseph Flanagan and Andrew Maguire both declared their intention to challenge the veteran council member. Independent Pamela Braman, who frequently declares for office but rarely submits the required signatures, also announced her bid for the seat.

• In Council District 6, incumbent Timothy Rudd faces a challenge from fellow Democrat Jeffrey Appiah.

• Incumbents in District 1 (Council President David Moran), District 2 (Mark Wildenhain), Meghan Kallman (District 5), and Terrence Mercer (District 3), are all running unopposed.

• The seven seats on the Pawtucket School Committee are also drawing plenty of interest, with two seats becoming available due to Elena Vasquez and Michael Araujo running for council. Democratic incumbents Gerard Charbonneau (chairman), Joanne Bonollo, Erin Dube, John Crowley and Joseph Knight, as well as former member Kimberly Grant, all declared for the seats by Wednesday's deadline, as did Democrats John Arcaro, Stephen Larbi, Shawn Moore, Everett Pope and Roberto Moreno. Independents Marcia Costa and Jorge Gil also filed papers to run.

The following are the candidates for Pawtucket's General Assembly seats:

• House 58 – Incumbent Democrat Carlos Tobon faces another challenge from Jonathan Vallecilla, who's running this time as a Democrat.

• House 59 – Incumbent Democrat Jean Philippe Barros is being challenged by Democrat David Santagata.

• House 60 – Karen Alzate will run as a Democrat. Incumbent Democrat David Coughlin announced that he won't run again, meaning Alzate is running as a first-time candidate without an opponent.

• House 61 – Incumbent Democrat Raymond Johnston is facing a challenge from Republican Nathan Luciano, who previously ran in the special election for Senate District 8.

• House 62 – Incumbent Democrat Mary Duffy Messier will run unopposed.