Quiet campaign season in Lincoln

Quiet campaign season in Lincoln

LINCOLN – Lincoln voters will decide two Town Council seats and one School Committee position in the fall elections, in addition to contested races for senator in District 17 and representative in District 46.

Republican Town Administrator T. Joseph Almond will run unopposed, seeking re-election for another four-year term. Almond is in his 12th year serving as administrator, first elected in 2006.

Independent Keith Macksoud declared his intent to run for re-election to the Town Council’s District 3 seat, which he has held since 2005. Also trying for the position is independent Stephen Schofield Allen.

The District 4 Town Council seat is also contested, with three people meeting the June 27 deadline to declare intentions to replace Councilor James Jahnz, who will not run. Democrat Pamela Azar, independent Jared Bethel and Democrat William Goho all filed declarations, meaning there will be no primary if all three return signatures this month to qualify for the ballot.

Three incumbent Town Council members will run uncontested for re-election: Independent Arthur Russo Jr. (District 1), independent Bruce Ogni (District 2) and Republican Kenneth Pichette (District 5).

Current School Committee Chairwoman Kristine Donabedian (District 3) is also up for re-election, uncontested, in addition to District 5 member Staci Rapko-Bruckner. John LaFleur’s District 1 seat is being sought by William McManus, a former Republican state representative and current Budget Board member. McManus previously ran for the at-large position on the School Committee, earning 30.5 percent of the votes in Lincoln.

Edward Sliney is seeking to land a spot on the Water Commission representing District 1, in addition to incumbents Edward Fox (District 3) and Louis Long (District 5).

Incumbent District 17 Sen. Thomas Paolino, a Republican, is being challenged by Democrats Dennis Lavallee and Keven McKenna. Paolino previously beat Democrat Jina Petrarca-Karampetsos by 67 votes in 2016 to secure his first term.

In District 19, incumbent Democrat Ryan Pearson will again face off against Republican Bill “BJ” Charette. Pearson won in Lincoln by more than 200 votes in 2016.

While District 44’s Gregory Constantino and District 45’s Mia Ackerman will run unopposed, three people have declared their intent to run for representative in District 46: independent John Cullen, Republican John Lyle Jr. and Democrat Mary Ann Shallcross Smith. The position is currently held by Democrat Jeremiah O’Grady, who is leaving the General Assembly.

The statewide primary is Wednesday, Sept. 12, followed by the general election on Tuesday, Nov. 6.