Visit Lincoln’s one-room schoolhouse and Quaker meetinghouse

Visit Lincoln’s one-room schoolhouse and Quaker meetinghouse

LINCOLN – Travel back 150 years to get a glimpse of what life was like in Lincoln by visiting the town’s earliest school and a Quaker meetinghouse. Both the Pullen’s Corner, also known as the “Hot Potato” Schoolhouse, and the Saylesville Friends Meetinghouse, located along Lincoln’s Great Road, will open their doors between 10 a.m. and noon on Saturday, Aug. 17.

Recommended visits are 1/2-hour each. Admission is free, but donations are welcomed.

At Chase Farm Park, step inside the newly restored Pullen’s Corner Schoolhouse, an 1850 one-room schoolhouse, and experience authentic 19th-century textbooks, slates and chalkboards that were used by area children during the 1800s.

The schoolhouse was originally located at Angell and Whipple Roads, but was relocated to Chase Farm Park where it joins other town-owned historic sites, all of which are maintained and operated by the volunteer organization, Friends of Hearthside. The schoolhouse is next to the new Visitors Center at Chase Farm Park, 671 Great Road.

For more information, email info@hearthsidehouse.org or call 401-726-0597.