Pawtucket Hall of Fame Committee announces 2018 inductees

Pawtucket Hall of Fame Committee announces 2018 inductees

PAWTUCKET – The Pawtucket Hall of Fame Committee has announced this year’s list of 2018 Pawtucket Hall of Fame inductees. The public is invited to its annual Pawtucket Hall of Fame Banquet and Induction Ceremony on Friday, Oct. 19, beginning at 6 p.m. with a reception, followed by dinner at 7 p.m., at the Pawtucket Armory Arts Center, 173 Exchange St.

This year’s 2018 Pawtucket Hall of Fame inductees are: civic activist Joseph Asermely; youth mentor/umpire Andrew H. Avakian; psychologist/author Dr. Christine Courtois; columnist/therapy dog activist Dawn Goff; Adjutant General of Rhode Island, the late Major Gen. Leonard Holland; superior court judge/active volunteer The Hon. Joseph A. Keough, Sr.; former city planner/preservationist Paul Mowrey; EMT leader/community volunteer the late Raymond F. Murray; comedic entertainer/author Robert Perlow; and veteran educator/former water board chairperson Mary Tetzner.

Also being recognized as an “historical inductee” is the late Thomas P. Giblin, who was an inventor.

In addition to these inductions, this year’s recipient of the traditional “Person of the Year Award,” given to recognize the person the committee believes has made an outstanding contribution over this past year, will be Donna Houle, champion of the Looff Carousel in Slater Park.

Tickets are $65 per person (cash or check only). Tickets may be purchased at the Blackstone Valley Visitor Center, 175 Main St., which is open seven days a week from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tickets will not be sold at the door. Checks should be made payable to Pawtucket Hall of Fame Committee.