Tobon receives CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award

Tobon receives CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award

PROVIDENCE – The Council of State Governments has announced its inaugural CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award recipients and Rep. Carlos Tobon, a Democrat representing House District 58, Pawtucket, was one of 20 outstanding leaders selected for the honor. Each of the 20 elected and appointed award winners represent hard work and a dedication to public service.

The CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award was created to recognize the outstanding work of up-and-coming elected and appointed officials from across the country who exemplify strong leadership skills and demonstrate a true commitment to serving the citizens of their state/territory.

“CSG has been an invaluable resource since I was first elected to the Rhode Island House of Representatives, and it is truly an honor to be recognized by such an esteemed organization,” said Tobon. “I may not be the flashiest or self-promoting legislator, but that is because I am constantly working behind the scenes to solve the problems of my constituents and community.”

CSG has allowed him to speak with and strategize with fellow legislators across the country, allowing them to communicate their ideas, solutions, and best practices “from all over the nation so that we may all be more effective legislators for our districts,” said Tobon. “I am truly grateful for this honor, and I look forward to continue to represent District 58 in the House of Representatives.”

Recipients demonstrated the ability to engage officials across party, departments, branch and/or state lines in meaningful ways to advance the common good for their state or territory, provided exceptional leadership to a state project, committee, chamber, commission or special group and served as a champion of change, seeking to enhance the lives of all constituents within important policy areas.

Winners represent a broad cross-section of exceptional leaders that successfully govern states, said David Adkins, CSG executive director and CEO.

“Those recognized this year come from diverse backgrounds, different political parties, different branches of state government and from every region of our country, but they share a singular commitment to make a difference for those they serve,” he said.